Will You Pay More For AI? Grok’s Costs And OpenAI’s Updated Rules
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

On Nov. 1, 2026, Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue but gave no figures or details of a change. In the same week, OpenAI tightened rules for using paid accounts across devices and payment methods and said ChatGPT and Codex will share an allowance from December. The developments point to more metering of heavy AI use, but do not establish that flat monthly subscriptions are ending.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1, 2026, that the cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue, while OpenAI announced limits on paid-account sharing and plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage into one allowance from December. Neither company’s disclosed information establishes that flat monthly AI subscriptions are ending, but the changes show providers managing heavy use more closely.

Musk’s comment came in response to an X user who asked for a Grok Bot reset, saying some users had run through their usage quickly that week. Musk replied: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not provide cost, revenue or margin figures, or say whether xAI had changed limits, prices or reset policies. The statement concerns Grok Bot, xAI’s task-oriented agent, rather than Grok chat generally.

According to xAI’s pricing information described in the source material, Grok Bot is included in certain paid X Subscription tiers and draws on a shared weekly usage pool that also covers other services. xAI says agent use is measured through steps and tokens, not simply the number of messages. The resources consumed can depend on the task and the amount of work involved. A flat subscription price, then, does not mean every task uses the same portion of a user’s allowance.

OpenAI’s help center says paid ChatGPT accounts are subject to limits on how many accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one card or device. The rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans, but the cited material gives no numerical account limit. OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business subscribers will have a shared token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. The source says unlimited Instant chats will remain outside that shared meter.

OpenAI made usage changes in both directions during the same week. On Oct. 29, a company employee working on Codex and ChatGPT said usage limits would double for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 tiers and Business Premium. The source material describes OpenAI’s release notes as more specific: Pro 100 and Pro 500 received doubled Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. These changes are separate from the account-sharing rules and the upcoming shared allowance.

At a glance
updateWhen: Developments announced or reported betw…
The developmentMusk cited Grok Bot’s high costs as OpenAI announced new account-sharing rules and a shared ChatGPT-Codex usage allowance.

AI Subscriptions Face Tighter Usage Controls

For subscribers, the practical change is that a monthly price may buy access while still leaving usage subject to a meter. Agent tasks can consume more resources than a short chat exchange, and the same allowance may cover multiple products. Users deciding whether to upgrade may need to check their current usage and the plan’s limits rather than assume that a higher price guarantees unrestricted access.

For businesses, combining tools under one allowance can make consumption harder to separate by product unless providers offer clear reporting. The source material recommends treating AI spending more like cloud computing: consider both the subscription fee and usage, and ask vendors for written details about limits and billing. That is practical advice, not evidence that either company has adopted a particular enterprise pricing model.

The timing also matters. OpenAI’s additional allowance on some plans arrived alongside new account controls and a forthcoming shared meter. Those actions do not prove that the company is raising prices or reducing every user’s access. They do show that plan benefits and usage rules can change independently, so customers should distinguish an increase in a particular allowance from a promise of unlimited service.

Products Worth Considering

Bose SoundLink Flex Bluetooth Speaker (2nd Gen), Waterproof, Dustproof, USB‑C, Up to 12 hr Battery, Black
Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Over-Ear Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Hazelnut Taupe

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Over-Ear Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Hazelnut Taupe

Apple Watch SE (2nd Gen) GPS 40mm with Starlight Aluminum Case and Sport Band (S/M)

Apple Watch SE (2nd Gen) GPS 40mm with Starlight Aluminum Case and Sport Band (S/M)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Flat Fees to Shared Allowances

The developments follow earlier questions about whether heavy users can be served profitably under fixed monthly prices. In December 2024, OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan described as offering “unlimited access” to its best models. The following month, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That historical comment provides context, but it does not establish the economics of current plans.

The source also cites OpenAI’s model pricing information to illustrate that models can consume allowances at different rates: it says the most capable model uses an allowance about 100 times faster per output token than the cheapest. The comparison refers to model usage rates, not a claim that a user’s total bill or subscription cost is 100 times higher. Longer agent tasks can also involve more steps than a single response, making message counts a limited measure of resource use.

Anthropic’s Claude subscriptions also have usage limits, according to the source material. That is relevant background for readers comparing providers, but it does not establish that all AI companies use identical rules. Plan terms, included tools and meters differ, and the cited information does not provide a like-for-like comparison of their costs or allowances.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, responding to an X user on Nov. 1, 2026

Limits and Costs Still Undisclosed

Musk did not disclose what prompted his statement, how much Grok Bot costs to serve, or how its revenue compares with those costs. He also did not confirm that xAI changed the weekly usage pool or say whether users will receive resets or face new prices. Reports cited in the source describe an official Grok account discussing adjusted allocations and a dashboard issue, but the author says they could not locate the post itself; those details are reported, not independently confirmed here.

OpenAI’s cited help information does not state the numerical limits on paid accounts per device or subscriptions per card or device. The exact size and operation of the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance, including how users will see consumption and what happens when it is exhausted, are also not specified in the supplied material. The date in December when the change begins is not given.

It is also unclear whether these measures will result in higher costs for typical users. A tighter account rule or a shared allowance could affect customers differently depending on their plan and workload. Neither development, on its own, confirms a general price increase or the end of fixed-price subscriptions.

Watch for December Allowance Details

OpenAI says the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans is due to start in December 2026. Subscribers will need the company’s detailed terms to understand the allowance size, how tokens are counted across the products and how usage is displayed. OpenAI’s help center is also the place to check the current paid-account sharing rules and any published numerical limits.

For xAI, the next useful information would be an explanation of whether Grok Bot allocations changed, how the shared weekly pool works and whether any reset or pricing changes are planned. Until xAI or Musk provides more detail, the cost statement should not be treated as confirmation of a specific limit change. Users and organizations can compare their actual usage with published plan terms and ask providers for written clarification before changing plans.

Key Questions

Did Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase?

No price increase was announced in the cited post. Musk said Grok Bot’s serving cost was unsustainably high relative to revenue but gave no new price or policy details.

Is Grok Bot usage unlimited?

The source says Grok Bot draws from a shared weekly usage pool on eligible paid tiers. xAI describes use in terms of agent steps and tokens, so a task’s resource use can vary.

What is OpenAI changing in December?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business users will draw from one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The source says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter, but it does not provide the allowance’s size or a specific December start date.

Does the account-sharing rule set a published limit?

The cited OpenAI help-center information says paid accounts are limited across devices and that subscriptions are limited by card or device, but gives no numerical cap.

Do these changes mean AI subscriptions are ending?

No. The developments indicate closer management of usage, not the end of monthly subscriptions. The exact impact on individual users remains unclear until providers publish more detail about limits and allowances.

Source: Thorsten Meyer AI

You May Also Like

Why A Former Engineer Is Speaking Out About Grok And xAI Safety

A Korea Daily headline links a former xAI engineer’s safety concerns about Grok to a wrongful-termination allegation; supporting details are unavailable.

Anthropic’s Claude Designs Leaner Quantum Circuits, Reducing Resources Needed For Key Calculations

Anthropic and Harvard researchers report AI-designed quantum circuits with lower estimated gate and qubit costs across seven of eight tasks.

Anthropic Says Its Own AI Use Is Now Worth More Than Its Payroll. What That Number Means, And What It Doesn’t

Anthropic’s IPO filing says internal Claude use at list prices topped monthly personnel expense excluding stock awards in April 2026.

Landline Phones Will Switch Off Across Britland In 100 Days, No Extensions

Openreach says the UK’s legacy phone network will be retired on Jan. 31, 2027, with no further delay planned. Customers and businesses should check their connections.