Muse Spark Open: Exploring Meta’s Open-Weight Multimodal Model
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Muse Spark Open: Exploring Meta’s Open-Weight Multimodal Model on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Meta has released Muse Spark Open, an open-weight model designed for agentic coding that accepts text, images, audio and video. Its published specifications include 816 billion total parameters and a context window of up to one million tokens, but running it requires substantial memory; independent performance results and licensing terms were not provided in the source material.

Meta has released Muse Spark Open, an open-weight multimodal model designed for coding agents that can take text, image, audio and video input, as described in the original analysis. The model description lists about 816 billion total parameters, with roughly 42 billion active per token, and a context window of up to one million tokens. Those specifications make it a potentially flexible tool for developers, but the model still requires memory for its full weights, and the supplied material does not include independent tests of its coding performance.

The model is built with a mixture-of-experts architecture. According to its Hugging Face description, each mixture-of-experts layer contains 256 experts, and a routing system selects eight for each token. Meta presents the model as suited to developer work such as reading codebases, multi-file refactoring and long debugging sessions. It describes a workflow in which the model plans, takes actions, observes results and adjusts its work, including when browsing the web with images. These are descriptions of intended capabilities, not independently verified results in the material provided.

Muse Spark Open accepts multimodal input but generates text. That could let a developer ask about a screenshot, voice note or screen recording alongside a coding task, without first turning every input into text. The model description lists a 62-layer language model with a hidden dimension of 8,192, plus separate image and video perception and audio encoders. It says audio is converted into tokens at a rate of 12.5 per second. Such specifications describe the model’s components; they do not establish how accurately it interprets these inputs.

Meta’s published checkpoints come in BF16 and NVFP4 formats. The source describes BF16 files totaling about 1.5 terabytes and says Transformers inference with that version uses four nodes, each with eight H200 GPUs. The NVFP4 version is described as designed for one B200 node. The source characterizes its accuracy loss as negligible, but provides no measurement or test conditions for that claim. It also estimates that a one-million-token context requires about 266 gigabytes of BF16 key-value cache, in addition to memory for the weights.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Release reported in the supplied source…
The developmentMeta has released Muse Spark Open, a large open-weight multimodal model aimed at extended coding-agent workflows.
At a glance
announcementWhen: Released; the source material does not…
The developmentMeta released Muse Spark Open, a large open-weight model built for coding tasks and able to process text, images, audio and video.

What the Model Means for Coding Teams

Muse Spark Open brings multimodal input and long-context coding together in a model whose weights developers can evaluate and, subject to its applicable terms, potentially run or fine-tune. In principle, that could help teams connect visual bug reports or recorded walkthroughs with codebases. Whether it improves real-world work will depend on accuracy, reliability, inference cost and the effort needed to integrate it; the supplied material gives no quantified results on those points.

The gap between active parameters and total model size matters for deployment. About 42 billion parameters are active for each token, but all 816 billion parameters remain part of the model and must be accommodated in memory. The active count is not a measure of the full memory footprint. Together with the listed hardware configurations and large context-cache estimate, this makes the release a substantial infrastructure undertaking rather than a lightweight local model. Developers will need to test whether its capabilities justify those resources.

Amazon

high performance GPU for AI development

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Muse Spark Fits Meta’s Model Series

The source describes Muse Spark Open as the larger model in Meta’s Muse series, following Muse Glimmer, which it says was released in August as a smaller, dense model intended for local use. It says the models share a tokenizer and vocabulary, while Spark uses a mixture-of-experts design and adds multimodal features. The supplied material does not identify the year of Glimmer’s release, so the timing of that earlier launch cannot be established here.

The model description says its one-million-token context can include text and multimodal tokens in the same window. That maximum should not be read as a guarantee of practical performance at that length: memory, hardware and inference setup affect what can be used. The source points to checkpoint repositories and deployment recipes for Transformers, llama.cpp, vLLM and SGLang, as well as fine-tuning guidance. The existence of those materials does not itself establish that every configuration works equally well or is suitable for every team.

“The model is designed for agentic coding workflows, including reading codebases, multi-file refactors and long debugging sessions.”

— Muse Spark Open model description on Hugging Face, as summarized in the supplied source

Amazon

large memory graphics card

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Performance, License and Deployment Questions

The supplied material does not give independent benchmark results, comparative coding scores or evidence showing how reliably Muse Spark Open handles extended tasks. It also does not specify the model’s release date, license or full terms for use and redistribution. Those details are needed to judge whether developers can adopt, modify or share the weights for a particular purpose.

Practical costs and trade-offs remain uncertain as well. The NVFP4 description’s claim of negligible accuracy loss is not accompanied by test results, and the source does not quantify inference cost or performance across coding and multimodal workloads. A one-million-token context is a stated limit, not proof that the model can use that full capacity efficiently on a given setup. The available specifications support planning and testing, but not a conclusion that the model outperforms other tools.

Amazon

multimodal AI development tools

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Developer Testing and Release Details

The source points developers to the Muse-Spark-Open-816B-A42B and Muse-Spark-Open-816B-A42B-NVFP4 checkpoint repositories, with deployment recipes and fine-tuning guidance. Teams can use those resources to check hardware requirements and evaluate the model on their own coding tasks, including workflows that combine source code with images, audio or video.

No separate next milestone or timetable is announced in the supplied material. Further assessment will depend on the release’s applicable license, reproducible evaluations and evidence about accuracy, reliability and cost across different workloads. Until those details are available, the listed specifications and capability descriptions should be treated as information for evaluation, not proof of practical results.

Amazon

AI coding assistant hardware

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What is Muse Spark Open?

Muse Spark Open is an open-weight multimodal model designed for agentic coding workflows. It accepts text, images, audio and video and generates text.

How large is the model?

The model description lists about 816 billion total parameters, with roughly 42 billion active per token. The active count does not remove the need to accommodate the full model weights in memory.

Can it run on a typical personal computer?

The supplied specifications indicate substantial hardware needs. The source describes BF16 inference using four nodes with eight H200 GPUs each, and an NVFP4 configuration designed for one B200 node; it does not establish that the model can run on a typical personal computer.

Has Muse Spark Open been shown to outperform other coding models?

No comparative results are included in the supplied material. Meta’s capability descriptions are not independent benchmarks, so relative coding performance remains unestablished here.

What license applies to the released weights?

The supplied material does not specify the license or full use and redistribution terms. Developers should check the checkpoint repositories and accompanying terms before deciding how they can use the weights.

Primary source: Hugging Face · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Before Drawing Conclusions From OpenAI’s EU Business AI Claim, Check The Base

OpenAI reports agents account for 55% of output tokens in its EU business accounts, but the metric does not measure tasks, users or business value.

More Than Three Quarters Of Small Business Owners Say AI Makes Them More Productive, But Most Need More Guidance

A Meta-commissioned YouGov survey of 3,983 small-business owners across nine APAC markets found broad AI use, alongside demand for more guidance.

9 Best AI Mini PCs For Local AI Workloads In 2027

A source-based comparison of nine AI mini PCs, led by the MINISFORUM MS-S1 MAX, with configuration limits and buying uncertainties explained.

How These 9 External GPUs Could Fit AI Setups In 2027

A buyer’s guide compares nine external GPU options for AI, focusing on connection bandwidth, upgradeability, power, cooling and compatibility.